Learner Permit Requirements

Whats is required to get a learner's permit in Ohio

Learner Permit Requirements in Ohio

How to get a Learner´s Permit (TIPIC)?

  • Pass a our Ohio, DPS approved online driver education course.

Approved online driver ed courses are

  • 24 hours of class work
  • 8 hours of driving

Make application to the DPS for an Ohio learners permit.

  • Take the Ohio driver education enrollement certificate.
  • Acceptable identification.

Pass the required:

  • Knowledge test
  • Visual screening,
  • Physical screening.


Driving with a permit.(TIPIC)

After successfully completing the testing phases of getting an Ohio learners permit, it’s time to begin gaining the necessary experience in actual driving. The following are requirements under the law to be adhered to:

  • Must keep the 1st 6 months of learning:
  • Drive with a supervising adult who is at least 21 years of age.
  • 65 hours of adult-supervised skill building, 10 must be at night.
  • A parent or guardian must certify driving using (see Fifty Hour Affidavit - DPS 5791))
  • Nighttime driving restriction begins at 11 p.m.: The young driver may not be behind the wheel between the hours of 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. Young drivers may travel for employment and for volunteer or charitable service during these hours, but they must carry proper documentation.
  • Passenger limitation: Young drivers can have only one non-family member under 18 with then in the vehicle. After six months on the junior license, the restriction rises to no more than three passengers under 18. Immediate family members are excluded from the restriction. The restriction also does not apply if a parent or legal guardian are in the vehicle with the young driver. Young drivers who are responsible for a reportable crash or have a traffic violation are bound by the rule restricting young non-family member passengers until they turn 18. In any case, there can be no more passengers in their car than available seat belts.


Ohio Graduated Driver License (GDL)

The Ohio graduated driver’s license law is a system designed to phase in young beginning drivers through various stages before they can obtain full driving privileges.  If you are a person between the ages of 15 years 6 months - 18 years old, you do not have a choice, you must go through the graduated license process.

“All states and the District of Columbia have a 3-stage GDL system, states the National Highway Transportation Safety Administration- NHTSA. Leaders in the national teen driver education area have developed standards for the states to implement. Additionally, studies indicate a substantial decrease in crashes for the 16 – 17-year old age group of almost 20 to 50%. 

 The Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles requires teen drivers to go through Ohio’s Graduated License Process (GDL in order to obtain a full unrestricted driver’s license.

·          Phase 1 – Temporary Instruction Permit Identification Card (TPIC)

  • Must have completed an approved driver education course, available to minors 15 years 6 months old. (Expires 1 year after issuance) 
  • You must hold your TIPIC for at least 6 months.
  • Must complete 50 hours of driving with a parent; 10 hours at night (execute DPS 5791 Fifty-hour affidavit)

·          Phase 2 – Probationary License

  • must be at least 16 years of age


Phase 3 – Full License

Restrictions while driving with TPIC

If you are 15 years 6 months of age or older, you may begin taking this approved driver education course.  When this course is completed, you can get started anytime with your in-car training.

What You Need To Know About Ohio’s Young Driver Law

To be licensed before your 18th birthday, you need to complete:

  • An approved course in driver education or training.
  • The Graduated Driver Licensing process

What are the types of licenses available in Ohio?

Ohio Driver's Licenses are divided into classes according to a person’s age group and the type of vehicle they will drive. 

  •          Class D (Basic License) Any motor vehicle which is not considered a motorcycle or commercial vehicle as described below.

Additionally, the United States requires the operators of certain identified vehicles

Commercial Driver License (CDL) have 3 classes and many endorsements.  to possess a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) as defined below. 

  • Class A - Any combination of vehicles with a GVWR of 26,001 or more pounds (11,793 kg) provided the GVWR of the vehicle(s) being towed is in excess of 10,000 pounds
  • Class B Any single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 or more pounds (11,793 kg), or any such vehicle towing a vehicle not in excess of 10,000 pounds
  • Class C - Any single vehicle, or combination of vehicles, that does not meet the definition of Class A or Class B, but is either designed to transport 16 or more passengers, including the driver, or is not approved for hazardous materials
  • Motorcycle (including moped) licenses are required for operating such vehicles.

Tips for Teens

  •         Always wear your seat belt.
  •         Don’t drink and drive. Drinking under the age of 21 is illegal.
  •         Don’t talk or text on your cell phone while driving.
  •         Obey the speed limit. Going too fast gives you less time to react.
  •         Don’t eat or drink while driving.
  •         Adjust radio and climate controls before beginning your trip, have your passenger adjust the controls for you or pull over to a safe place to adjust the controls.
  •         Since in many cases the teen driver shares a vehicle with a parent/guardian, the driver’s seat and all mirrors should be adjusted prior to beginning a trip.
  •         If you cannot see a truck’s mirrors the driver cannot see you.
  •         Plan ahead; know where you are going and get directions.
  •         Leave early. Give yourself plenty of time to get there.
  •         Expect the unexpected. You never know what can happen.

Tips for Parents/Guardians:

Parents/guardians are critical components to keeping teen drivers safe on the roads, as they have the ability to best assess the teen driver's knowledge, skills and maturity. Here are some tips for teaching your teen to drive

  •         Set an example.
  •         Talk about driving with your teen even before they turn 16.
  •         Know the rules of the road.
  •         Make sure your vehicle is safe and well-maintained.
  •         Start out slow and simple, in a low traffic area or a parking lot.
  •         Work your way into more difficult driving.
  •         Allow your teen to drive in all situations and all kinds of weather.
  •         There is no such thing as too much practice.

After Your Teenager Receives His or Her Driver's License - This is a stage where your role is just as if not more critical as when you were teaching them to drive.

  •         Establish a parent/teen driving contract.
  •         Limit the number of passengers your teen is allowed to have in their vehicle.
  •         Enforce a curfew. Limit driving at dawn, dusk and at night until your teen gathers more experience.
  •         Gradually increase the amount of time and distance you allow your teen to drive.
  •         Do not allow your teen to eat or drink while driving.
  •         Do not allow your teen to use a cell phone while driving.
  •         Enforce observance of speed limits and other rules of the road.
  •         Do not allow your teen to drink and drive. Drinking under the age of 21 is illegal.
  •         Ride with your teen occasionally to monitor his or her driving skills.